Perceived victimisation is not always real

There are real victims in life who, through no fault of their own, have experienced things nobody should have to experience. I believe they should speak out and tell their side of the story to the world so that it may help other people who have experienced similar events.

Perceived victimisation, on the other hand, is where people believe they are the innocent victims without taking into consideration the part they played in their story.

Perceived victimisation

For example, I was reading a story about a young woman who believed she had been victimised by a bus driver. Whether she was or not is not for me to guess. However, the woman portrayed herself as completely innocent of any responsibility for the event. In her story, the victimisation was the result of requesting the driver to lower a ramp to help her get off the bus with a child’s buggy a month prior to the actual event. It was just a coincidence that on the day in question the young woman got onto the bus without money on her bus pass to pay for the fare and was asked to come back when she had the fare. In the young woman’s own words, “most drivers normally wave me through.” This from my perspective means the driver was doing his job, and the young woman felt entitled to travel for free.

The young woman shared her story online with a picture of the driver and the victimisation narrative. Thousands of people liked, commiserated with her, and shared the story because people believed the story. I wasn’t one of them because I know there’s at least three sides to every story. Even if I’d witnessed the event, I still wouldn’t understand what was happening because I wouldn’t be aware of the historical relationship between the two antagonists. All I’d see is a real-time event that would be limited to the time when voices were raised. I mean voice because, according to the young woman, she was the innocent victim.

My narrative of the event.

If the young woman had taken responsibility for her actions (had the fare), she wouldn’t have felt victimised.

That’s just one example. Another is where someone moves into a new property who relies on their mobile phone for everything without checking the premises to see if there’s a mobile phone signal at the property.

Perceived victimisation exists any time people don’t accept responsibility for their actions or non-action. It’s about the people who feel entitled to a certain lifestyle without earning the right to that life.

I’ll leave you with one final thought

People who don’t accept responsibility for their own life will feel like they’re being victimised, but it’s not always real.

Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.