Why does my Alarm Clock make me want to go Back to Sleep

Just one more Snooze.

Just one more Snooze.

I go to bed at a decent hour, and I have a good night’s sleep, but every morning when the alarm goes off, all I can think of is more sleep so I press the snooze button a couple of times, but this does not seem to help, I get up feeling half asleep and nearly stumble into the shelf. Is there something wrong with me I ask? Surely I don’t need more sleep.

The paragraph above is fairly accurate for a lot of people I know, they get lots of sleep but still are not ready to get up when the morning arrives. The answer to their problem is also in the paragraph or at least the reason for the problem is there; the problem is the alarm clock or to be more precise, how they use the alarm clock.

When you use the snooze button on your alarm clock, you are telling your brain you want to go back to sleep, so your brain begins to associate the alarm clock as a reminder to go back to sleep instead of an instrument to wake you up, the more times you use the snooze button the stronger the association will get and the more tired you will feel every morning.

It is possible to change how you feel about the morning, but it will take time, approximately three to four weeks, maybe longer for some people.

It requires you to retrain your brain to associate the alarm clock with waking up instead of going to sleep; you have to stop using the snooze button all together, set the alarm clock for the time when you have to get up, do this every day and after a couple of weeks you will begin to feel alert when the alarm goes off and in time you will start to wake up without the need for an alarm clock at all.

If you are one of those people who want to wake up feeling alert every morning? Follow these simple steps and your days of waking up and wondering if you are awake at all will be well behind you.

 

Till later, have a great day.

 

 

About BrendanDunne

Sharing my life experience, one post at a time.
This entry was posted in Digital Marketing, My Style, Self Improvement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why does my Alarm Clock make me want to go Back to Sleep

  1. I’m going to try this method. I hope it works!

    Like

Leave a Reply

