It takes Time to Appreciate the Minor Miracles in our Lives

“There are two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle” –Albert Einstein.

Everybody knows about these Miracles

What are miracles? When you are young they are events you witness or read about in the newspapers and you think, wow, how on earth did he survive that car crash? How did the child survive with only a few stitches after falling out of the third floor window? Or how did that person survive for ten days under the rubble of their house that had fallen down due to an earth quake? I’m sure you have your own memories of miraculous stories you witnessed or read about in the newspapers.

As we travel through life our attitude changes, what we once would have taken for granted is now treasured. I have been very lucky over the years regarding my health but the few times I have been off my feet have made me change my attitude as to what exactly a miracle is? I had a bad back for a period of time which meant getting out of bed in the morning was like going on battle maneuvers, inch this way a bit and then that way for a few centimeters; all in all getting out of bed was a living nightmare that used to take quite a while. This morning I considered this as I nonchalantly put my feet on the floor and stood up in one fluent movement. This to me is a minor miracle.

On another occasion I got a chest infection which meant walking up the stairs required planning due to getting out of breath; I would have to allow at least a two-minute time frame to climb the stairs because our toilet is on the first floor which meant there was no waiting around until the last-minute before making the journey. At this moment in time walking up stairs is not the same arduous journey it once was, another minor miracle.

Look and you will find.

Look and you will find.

Above are a few examples of minor miracles; I would not have considered them so when I was young but then who would? It is only as we get older that we appreciate the minor miracles we are lucky to have.

*The youth will always take things for granted while the aged will cherish everything.

Till later

About BrendanDunne

Sharing my life experience, one post at a time.
This entry was posted in Common Sense, Inspiration, Motivation, My Style, Quotes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

