Do Not Discriminate against other People’s Faith

The majority of people I know or have had the privilege to meet throughout my life have one thing in common; they want to fit in, they act in ways that will allow them to be respected and accepted by their friends and colleagues. This is the norm in our society and if you don’t follow this pattern? You will stand out, oh and yes you will be the center of every conversation in the community of gossips.

Is this right? Should people have to hide their true personalities out of fear of rejection or should they decide to follow Dr Seuss’s ideology “Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

It is my belief that once you follow the laws of the land in which you reside, everything else you do is entirely up to your own discretion. I believe that no individual who is not directly involved in any given situation has the right to inflict their beliefs onto other people; for example, if they believe that their God is the one and only power, I will respect their beliefs but I expect them to respect mine in return.

Religion is only the tip of the iceberg, when there are so many other reasons for people to discriminate against other people in the name of self-righteousness. People are discriminated for the colour of their skin, where they were born, their sex and sexual preferences to mention but a few.

  • Respect the fact that everyone is born to be themselves. Live and let live.

 

About BrendanDunne

Sharing my life experience, one post at a time.
This entry was posted in Common Sense, Inspiration, Motivation, My Style and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do Not Discriminate against other People’s Faith

  1. ” if they believe that their God is the one and only power, I will respect their beliefs but I expect them to respect mine in return.”

    This is precisely what I believe. But, in my experiences of too having met many folk from all backgrounds and religions, I found that the latter wanted to impose their beliefs onto me yet not respect mine nor accept them. I have found that to be not very ‘God like’ and insulting. It’s even gone as far as friends whose religious beliefs were not mine – rather, I was not of their faith – have less to do with me as a result, which is very hurtful. I accept them, so why can they not accept me? Religious bias is prevalent and something I’ve had to accept from those I thought more of… After all, on a global scale, look at what that attitude has done.

    I’m glad that I found your post as it fits with how I feel. I’m a short story writer, which is what my blog prominently consists of, and I might turn this topic into a story. I always link to where my inspiration comes from. So if it’s alright with you, if I do indeed write a story inspired by your post, I shall link it.

    Thanks for writing another thought provoking post and I wish you a great weekend!

    ~ Vicky 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

