Everybody Deserves their Opinion to be Respected

Respect Yourself

“It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it” —Aristotle

I love that quote by Aristotle because when you have learned to keep you opinions flexible, You have the ability to grow as a person. If you have an opinion on a topic, that opinion should be open to change depending on what other information is shared with you. If your opinions are set in stone? any conversation you have with someone on that particular topic is set to end badly.

I will use politicians as an example, I have a fairly rigid opinion on politicians as a rule, and to tell the truth, it isn’t a good opinion. I have conversations from time to time and when I hear facts that contradict my opinion, and show certain politicians in a better light, my opinion changes, if only marginally.

If my opinion on politicians set in stone, no amount of stories regarding politicians good deeds would change my opinion, if I heard such stories? I would just assume they had done those good deeds for their own benefit or another brown envelope had passed into the politician’s back pocket.

When you respect your own opinion, you have the ability to appreciate other people’s opinions without thinking they are insulting yours.

Kind regards,

Brendan Dunne

Arrow Digital Marketing.

About BrendanDunne

Sharing my life experience, one post at a time.
This entry was posted in My Style and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

